See NPP home page for Due Date Information. All plays are to be submitted to the Regional Playwriting Chair and to the National Office. 

Please include with your submission the official cover sheet for One Act Plays.

Please see the NPP MAINPAGE for Regional Playwriting Chair and National Office email information 

A short play is defined as a play of one act without intermission that, within itself, does not constitute a full evening of theatre; the running time of a one-act play is under 60 minutes, and when typed in standard format, a one-act play is approximately 15-45 (or so) pages in length.

Each entry must have had a period of significant development at the student’s college or university to be eligible.  If the student’s school has any other associate or participating productions registered, the student is free to submit his or her play.  If the school has no registered productions, the student should contact the Region VII NPP Chair for submission instructions.

The submitted plays will be read by a panel of readers from a different region.  Two or more of the top choices will be invited to Region VII’s Festival. (Usually up to six)  Should you be one of the selected playwrights you must be able to attend the festival or your play will be disqualified.   Do not submit your play unless you are able to attend. 

The One Act Festival celebrates and supports the achievement of student playwrights. Plays may be performed with minimal technical assistance or presented as staged readings. More information about the performance space, resources and rehearsal procedures are made at the time of selection. Two or three experienced playwriting respondents will respond to your play at the festival. 

Two plays are chosen to be National Semi-Finalists from the regional festival.  Those two plays will then be held in consideration for the national festival in Washington DC, as potential National Finalists. 

For more information on the John Cauble Short Play Award, visit the KCACTF national website and follow this string:; Students; Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards; John Cauble Short Play Award